The 100-strong team at the new £15 million Westover Jaguar Land Rover showroom in Christchurch are celebrating following the announcement that Jaguar’s first-ever electric vehicle, the Jaguar I-PACE, has been awarded the coveted title of ‘Car of the Year’ at the European Car of the Year Awards 2019.


The Car of the Year is an international award, judged by a panel of 60 motoring experts from 23 European countries.  Its aim is to acknowledge the most outstanding new car to go on sale in the 12 months preceding the date of the title.


The I-PACE is Jaguar’s first all-electric performance SUV that brings style and sophistication to the world of electric cars.  Thanks to its winning combination of luxury, superior performance and cutting-edge technology, this zero-emission SUV from Jaguar is positioned firmly at the forefront of the electric vehicle revolution.


With a 292-mile range, the I-Pace delivers 696NM of instant torque and is capable of 60mph in 4.5 seconds.  Using a 100kW DC charger, the I-PACE can achieve zero to 80 per cent battery charge within 40 minutes or home charging with an AC wall box (7kW) achieves the same state of charge in just over 10 hours.


Andy Grant, brand director for Westover Jaguar Land Rover, said; “The Car of the Year award is arguably the most influential and important award not just in Europe but the world.  Designed and developed in the UK, it’s fantastic that the Jaguar I-PACE has been recognised for its technical innovation, design, performance, efficiency and value for money.”


The Jaguar I-PACE has received 55 awards worldwide since it was launched 12 months ago, including German, Norwegian and UK Car pf the Year, BBC Top Gear magazine EV of the Year, China Green Car of the Year and the Autobest ECOBEST Award.


To book a test drive and experience the award-winning all-electric Jaguar I-PACE please telephone 01202 970339 or visit For Westover’s latest offers on the Jaguar I-PACE, please visit


Established in 1923, the Westover Group operates from 28 locations across Dorset and Wiltshire and represents 15 vehicle manufacturers – Abarth, Alfa Romeo, Dacia, Fiat, Hyundai, Jaguar, Jeep, Kia, Land Rover, Lexus, Lotus, Nissan, Renault, Skoda and Toyota.